David Attenborough and Prince William launch Earthshot Prize

9 October 2020

Over the next 10 years, the Earthshot Prize will give out £50m worth of prize money to projects tackling the climate crisis. It is being promoted as “the most prestigious global environment prize in history” with five annual £1m prizes to be awarded until 2030.

The prize is centred on five “earthshots”, or ambitions for the planet. They are:

• Protect and restore nature.
• Clean our air.
• Revive our oceans.
• Build a waste-free world.
• Fix our climate.

The prize is open to individuals, groups, businesses, cities, and countries. Nominations for the first round of prizes open on 1 November 2020, with winning entries announced at a ceremony in London next year.

Backing the Earthshot Prize is a global alliance of partnerships – including WWF, Greenpeace, Bloomberg Philanthropies, and the Aga Khan Development Network – and a dedicated foundation is planned for 2021.

The prizes will be awarded by a council comprised of figures from environmental, philanthropic, business, sporting and entertainment sectors. Currently, the 13 members include Attenborough, actor Cate Blanchett, singer Shakira, Queen Rania of Jordan, Japanese former astronaut Naoko Yamazaki, Brazilian footballer Dani Alves, and basketball star Yao Ming.